I was once a mobile tester

For two years I tested Android and iOS applications with Appium then Calabash.  I wrote about the Calabash here: mobileautotest.  While this is no longer my day job I still do find it interesting.  I wanted to post this here in the event anyone out there is dealing with the tough world of mobile test automation.

While there is some value in test automation on this platform it is a tough place to get a good ROI.  Appium was good until the day it wasn’t and Calabash was better but knowing what I know now I’d probably pick a different platform.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “I was once a mobile tester”

  1. Anton Says:

    Hi Brent.
    “While there is some value in test automation on this platform it is a tough place to get a good ROI.” absolutely resembles my thoughts about mobile automation. I’d add only that the more tests you have the less the ROI. But still it’s good to have them especially in environments where even unit tests are sparse. You just always have to remember about test pyramid.

    Could you also elaborate on “Appium was good until the day it wasn’t and Calabash was better but knowing what I know now I’d probably pick a different platform.” I’ve never read any comparison or review from a person with good experience in mobile automation.

    • Brent Says:

      When Xcode 5 came out I lost the ability to swipe in a simulator. The app I was testing needed to swipe past 3 screens that explained new features in the app. This killed me. There were some work arounds involving controlling the mac running the simulator but nothing I was willing to do.

      As I was leaving the iOS team the team moved to Xcode 7 but I was unable to port the tests from Xcode 6 to 7. Bringing up a new simulator was WAY slower in Xcode 7. It would display the apple icon as if you were turning on the iPhone and that led to timeouts.


Leave a Reply

